Powerful Swimming Team Named for Glasgow 2014

Home » Sport »

Powerful Swimming Team Named for Glasgow 2014

New Zealand will boast a powerful 16 strong swimming team for the XX Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, announced on Friday by the New Zealand Olympic Committee.


The team includes six swimmers who qualified in individual events – four able bodied and two Para-Swimmers – and three relay teams. They comprise the men’s and women’s 4x200m freestyle relays and women’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay.

This compares to the 12-strong team for Delhi in 2010 which brought home six medals.

Two Para-Swimmers earned selection in Sophie Pascoe and Te Awamutu teen Nikita Howarth who won six medals between them at last year’s IPC Swimming World Championships.

“I am thrilled that Sophie and Nikita have been selected as part of the team for Glasgow 2014,” says Jon Shaw, PNZ Head Performance Coach for Para-Swimming.

“The Commonwealth Games provides the opportunity for these two inspirational Para-Swimmers to compete in a fully inclusive swimming event as they build towards Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.”

The team is led by triple world championship medallist Lauren Boyle and five-time Paralympic gold medallist Sophie Pascoe. Boyle qualified in the 200m, 400m and 800m freestyle and as a member of the 4x200m freestyle relay, while Pascoe, will contest the 200m individual medley.

“We are delighted to have selected the 16 athletes for Glasgow 2014,” said New Zealand Olympic Committee President Mike Stanley, who was at the New Zealand National Open Championships to name the team tonight. “We look forward to seeing them excel at one of New Zealand’s favourite sporting events and have no doubt that Glasgow will be a significant milestone as they progress through to Rio 2016.”

New Zealand has a strong history of swimming, winning a two silver medals at the 1930 Edmonton (Canada) British Empire Games, the forerunner to the Commonwealth Games.

The Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games take place 23 July – 3 August. New Zealand will have around 200 athletes at the games, competing in all 17 sports on the programme. Selections will be finalised in June.

The full team is (and events in which they qualified):
Lauren Boyle (United, Auckland) 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 800m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay
Mitchell Donaldson (North Shore, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle
Dylan-Dunlop Barrett (Coast, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle relay
Tash Hind (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay
Nikita Howarth (Te Awamutu, Waikato) Para S8 100m freestyle
Ewan Jackson (Howick Pakuranga, Counties Manukau) 4x200m freestyle relay
Steven Kent (Coast, Auckland) 4x200m freestyle relay
Samantha Lee (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay, 4 x 100 freestyle relay
Samantha Lucie-Smith (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay, 4 x 100 freestyle relay
Corey Main (Howick-Pakuranga, Counties Manukau) 100m backstroke
Sophie Pascoe (QEII, Canterbury) Para S10 100m individual medley
Laura Quilter (North Shore, Auckland) 4 x 100m freestyle relay
Ellen Quirke (Capital, Wellington) 4 x 100m freestyle relay
Emma Robinson (Capital, Wellington) 4x200m freestyle relay
Matthew Stanley (Matamata, Waikato) 400m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay
Glenn Snyders (North Shore, Auckland) 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke.