Home » Sport » Cricket »

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 cricket tickets to go on sale

Tickets to next year’s eagerly anticipated ODI cricket tournament in Britain, the ICC Champions Trophy, are set to go on sale.


ICC Champion

THE International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Wednesday that tickets for the fifteen matches of the ICC Champions Trophy in June 2013 will go on sale to the public on Monday 5 November 2012 at 10:30.

The ICC Champions Trophy features the eight best one day international teams in the world (according to the Reliance Mobile ICC ODI Rankings) and will be played out across three grounds – Cardiff Wales Stadium, The Oval and Edgbaston – over eighteen days (6 – 23 June 2013).

Speaking at the tournament launch event in London on Wednesday, David Richardson, ICC CEO, said: “We have the top eight sides in the 50-over format taking part at three world class venues competing for national pride as nation takes on nation. With the action on a daily basis in the group stages of this competition, cricket lovers have the chance to live every ball of every match every day.

“We also know that because of the diversity of cultures in the United Kingdom that each team taking part can be guaranteed ‘home support’ and because the demand for tickets will be so high we urge everyone to reserve their place at this special tournament as soon as possible.”

Also attending the tournament launch event was England captain Alastair Cook and Tournament Director Steve Elworthy.

Elworthy said: “We cannot wait for the start of the ICC Champions Trophy in June 2013, and are delighted to announce ticket details for the tournament.  In a summer packed full of cricket, we’ve ensured that fans across England and Wales can enjoy world class cricket at exceptional value.”

Alastair Cook, England captain, said: “Next summer’s ICC Champions Trophy is a very important event for us as a side. We don’t often get the opportunity to play an ICC World event on home soil, and as we have a very good home record we have the chance to do something special next summer.”

The tournament begins on Thursday 6 June 2013 when India face South Africa at Cardiff Wales Stadium, and closes with the Final on Sunday 23 June 2013 at Edgbaston. The eight teams are split into two groups, with each team playing 3 group matches. The top two in each group progress to a semi-final, and the winners of the semis meet in the Final.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Fixtures

Group A:

England v Australia, June 8, Edgbaston;

Sri Lanka v New Zealand, June 9, Cardiff Wales Stadium;

Australia v New Zealand, June 12, Edgbaston;

England v Sri Lanka, June 13, The Oval;

England v New Zealand, June 16, Cardiff Wales Stadium;

Sri Lanka v Australia, June 17, The Oval.

Group B:

India v South Africa, June 6, Cardiff Wales Stadium;

West Indies v Pakistan, June 7, The Oval;

Pakistan v South Africa, June 10, Edgbaston;

India v West Indies, June 11, The Oval;

West Indies v South Africa, June 14, Cardiff Wales Stadium;

India v Pakistan, June 15, Edgbaston.


Group A Winner v Group B runner-up, June 19, The Oval;

Group B Winner v Group A runner-up, June 20, Cardiff Wales Stadium.


June 23, Edgbaston.

Fans can register their interest in tickets and the tournament now at www.icc-cricket.com.  Tickets go on sale at 10:30 on Monday 5 November at www.icc-cricket.com and via 0844 249 2013.

IMAGE: ICC Chief Executive David Richardson, Tournament Director Steve Elworthy and England captain Alastair Cook at the ICC Champions Trophy launch event on Wednesday, 17 October 2012